Win Katie Melua ‘Call Off The Search’ Vinyls – Music News


Celebrated singer-songwriter, Katie Melua, has today released the 20th anniversary reissue of her chart-topping breakthrough debut album. Call Off The Search (20th Anniversary – Expanded & Remastered) is out now on 2xCD and 2xLP via BMG and includes b-sides plus seven previously unreleased and pristine demos recorded by Katie in 2002.

Call Off The Search instantly established a then 19 year old Melua as a breakout star, earning commercial success and critical acclaim for its heartfelt themes of love and self discovery and Katie’s unique vocal style, blending jazz, blues, and folk influences with contemporary pop sensibilities. It went on to become one of the best selling albums of 2003, spending 6 weeks at Number 1 and amassing over 2 million sales. Lead single ‘Closest Thing To Crazy’ immediately captured audiences worldwide with its emotive delivery and captivating melody, and hit the top 10 after Katie’s rapturous performance in front of Queen Elizabeth II at the 2003 Royal Variety Show.

Discussing the 20th anniversary reissue, Katie says: “It blows my mind to think that 20 years and 8 albums later I’m still doing what I love, and it all started with my album Call Off The Search.

It went to number one and stayed there for six weeks, and that is where my addiction for making records began. I find it amazing that people still come up to me, mentioning ‘The Closest Thing to Crazy’, ‘Tiger In The Night’ and ‘Call Off The Search’ and it feels incredible to have grown up with a whole generation of people through this music.”

Originally from Tbilisi, Georgia, Katie Melua has travelled far in every sense. Immortalised by modern standards such as ‘The Closest Thing To Crazy’ and ‘Nine Million Bicycles’, 2020’s Album No.8, was her most critically-acclaimed to date, seeing her come of age of as a lyricist, gently pushing back against the romantic idealism that forms the language of love in pop songs, and searching instead for something that felt closer to her own experience. Amassing 56 platinum certifications over a glittering 20 year career, Katie has become one of Britain’s highest-selling recording artists after bursting into the national consciousness with Call Off The Search and releasing 8 consecutive top 10 UK albums. Her acclaimed ninth studio album, Love & Money; a stunning and personal 10 track glimpse into Katie’s journey over the past two years, was released in March this year.

Call Off The Search 2LP Deluxe | Tracklisting

Side 1 – Call Off The Search (2023 Remaster)
1. Call Off The Search
2. Crawling Up A Hill
3. The Closest Thing To Crazy
4. My Aphrodisiac Is You
5. Learnin’ The Blues
6. Blame It On The Moon

Side 2 – Call Off The Search (2023 Remaster)
1. Belfast (Penguins and Cats)
2. I Think It’s Going To Rain Today
3. Mockingbird Song
4. Tiger In The Night
5. Faraway Voice
6. Lilac Wine

Side 3 – Demos (Previously Unreleased)
1. Call Off The Search (Demo)
2. Tiger In The Night (Demo)
3. Faraway Voice (Demo)
4. I Think It’s Going To Rain Today (Demo)
5. My Aphrodisiac Is You (Demo)
6. September Song (Demo)
7. It Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time (Demo)

Side 4 – B-Sides
1. Downstairs To The Sun
2. Shirt Of A Ghost
3. Deep Purple
4. Turn To Tell
5. Jack’s Room
6. Anniversary Song (Live)

To enter simply name one artist on our new Tickets Directory.

Just send your ANSWER on an email with KATIE MELUA in the subject line to please include your NAME, EMAIL, ADDRESS & TWITTER HANDLE (if available).

It’s that simple! Best of luck!

You can double your chances by liking & retweeting the competition on our Competitions Club page @competitionsC. Good luck & tag friends for extra entries.

For more competitions entries visit our network sites, and

Get the competitions delivered directly to you by signing up to our newsletter here.

Promoter Terms and conditions.

Become a fan of on Facebook Become a fan of on Facebook Follow Film-News on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *